Proud to be a H.O.G: Pop Culture - Tech Talk - Reviews - Gaming - Consumer Electronics - News - Consoles - Computing

 

ello and welcome to HipOldGuy.com.The Name Hip Old Guy, comes from our founder, Mark Taylor, who has worked for many tech sites and written for both electronic and traditional media. Be sure to Comment on stories.! You can send an email to HipOldGuy@HipOldGuy.com or on MSN Messenger user name HipOldGuy!


Saturday, January 10

Hip News  

Warning....

PayPal SCAM hits new low!


I just got another email asking me to verify/update my PayPal account. I know not to do this, since it is a scam, but this one is even more sneaky than before. They fully mask the real address by using the format below and just show their COPY of the PayPal.com site.

DO NOT - EVER go to PayPal through any other method than typing PayPal.com in the adress bar of your browser. They will NEVER send you email asking for you to update credit card or any other info. They harvest the email addresses of PayPal uses from sites, and sometimes just send out bulk emails in hopes of catching people.

This is the address of the server.. and from looking at it you may be able to tell how they fool people:

http://www.paypal.com


@66.6.128.90/f/


The first part shows up in the browser and the email link, all the squares are blanks(spaces) the actual place the link goes to is the site at address 66.6.128.90/f/ anything before the @ sign is ignored by the server. The 66.6.128.90 is an IP address.


Site Design by Ryan Brucks